A Proverbs 31 Woman


I have shared with my readers the faithful journey of Joey Martin Feek as she battled the aggressive cancer that finally ended her life. Her husband Rory made the announcement on his blog:

My wife’s greatest dream came true today. She is in Heaven.

The cancer is gone, the pain has ceased and all her tears are dry. Joey is in the arms of her beloved brother Justin and using her pretty voice to sing for her savior.

Joey said:

I pray that one morning I just don’t wake up. But I don’t fear anything because I’m so close to God and we’ve talked about it so many times. I know he’s close. And I know he loves me. I’m really at peace. I still believe there’s healing in prayer.

I’ve prayed and prayed and prayed I’d discover I was healed. But I realized I was healed in a different way. I was healed in my relationship with Christ, because it just drew me closer.

Joey was just a small town girl (Alexandria, Indiana) who loved horses and cowboys. Her dream was to go to Tennessee and get discovered on Music Row in Nashville. That’s where she met her future husband, Rory. He was performing at the iconic Bluebird cafe, and Joey fell in love. “I’m gonna marry that man,” she told friends. But when Rory started talking about his daughters, Joey thought her feelings were mistaken.

Two years past when Joey attended a Singer/Songwriter’s night at the same cafe, and Rory (by providence?) was scheduled to perform. Joey learned that he was not married, but a single dad raising two teenage girls. They started dating, and within four months became husband and wife. Rory said, “I couldn’t believe that a woman like her would want a man like me.”

Joey put her singing career on hold as she lived the life of a country gal on the couple’s farm south of Nashville. She raised chickens, planted a garden, cooked, cleaned and mended, was mother to Rory’s two girls — she was, indeed, a Proverbs 31 woman. Even in her last days, Joey was preparing the seedlings for the Spring planting. Sadly, she won’t be here to harvest their fruit.

Joey Martin Feek was an amazing woman. She was, in fact, the kind of woman I searched for my whole life … but never found. When Bathsheba was counseling her son, Solomon, on the nature of a worthy woman she certainly had someone like Joey in mind.

If it be God’s will may I one day find such a woman.

Proverbs 31:10-31

10 An excellent wife, who can find?
For her worth is far above jewels.

11 The heart of her husband trusts in her,
And he will have no lack of gain.

12 She does him good and not evil
All the days of her life.

13 She looks for wool and flax
And works with her hands in delight.

14 She is like merchant ships;
She brings her food from afar.

15 She rises also while it is still night
And gives food to her household
And portions to her maidens.

16 She considers a field and buys it;
From her earnings she plants a vineyard.

17 She girds herself with strength
And makes her arms strong.

18 She senses that her gain is good;
Her lamp does not go out at night.

19 She stretches out her hands to the distaff,
And her hands grasp the spindle.

20 She extends her hand to the poor,
And she stretches out her hands to the needy.

21 She is not afraid of the snow for her household,
For all her household are clothed with scarlet.

22 She makes coverings for herself;
Her clothing is fine linen and purple.

23 Her husband is known in the gates,
When he sits among the elders of the land.

24 She makes linen garments and sells them,
And supplies belts to the tradesmen.

25 Strength and dignity are her clothing,
And she smiles at the future.

26 She opens her mouth in wisdom,
And the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.

27 She looks well to the ways of her household,
And does not eat the bread of idleness.

28 Her children rise up and bless her;
Her husband also, and he praises her, saying:

29 “Many daughters have done nobly,
But you excel them all.”

30 Charm is deceitful and beauty is vain,
But a woman who fears the LORD, she shall be praised.

31 Give her the product of her hands,
And let her works praise her in the gates.

Today, Joey Martin Feek is inside the gates of heaven singing for her Savior. Blessed be His name.

Recommended:

Rory’s WordPress blog: This Life I Live

Joey+Rory Facebook

Copyright © 2016 Messiah Gate

