By His Stripes We are Healed


heal

Today I was banned from a WordPress blog, The Lord is With Us. The blog is owned by a doctor who gave up the profession in order to serve God. The focus of the doctor’s ministry is faith healing with a heavy emphasis on the teaching of Dan Mohler. I am not permitted to leave comments until I have reviewed Mohler’s videos and articles. (She’s left at least one response after telling me I’m not allowed to comment. So much for Christian charity.)

The doctor suggested that I am not healed because I haven’t been forgiven, and that I am driven by an agenda of self-preservation — oh, and that I have the hardened heart of a Pharisee. The link above will take you to the page I visited. Just scroll down to the comment section to read what I posted, or follow them here. I haven’t permission to post the doctor’s comments, but a snippet reply will follow.

I first took issue with the doctor’s interpretation of 1 Peter 2:24 that we are healed physically by the wounds of Christ:

… and He Himself bore our sins in His body on the cross, so that we might die to sin and live to righteousness; for by His wounds you were healed.

1 Peter 2:24 is saying that we are spiritually healed — not physically. The context is that Christ bore our sins on the cross as a remedy for our spiritual condition. It has no application for physical healing. Christians get sick and die. Otherwise, faith healers could empty every hospital bed by simply preaching the Gospel. I’ve never heard of a faith healer emptying the cancer ward.

The Bible speaks of sin as a disease — the healing of which the apostle is indicating.

The doctor responded that I am deceived — that we are healed wholly by His wounds.

I have not read a Hebrew or Greek scholar since the Reformation who has not exposited this passage from Peter as I have presented.

John Gill (1697-1771) wrote in his commentary:

Sin is a disease, a natural and hereditary one that reaches to all men, and in itself mortal and incurable; nor can it be healed by (anyone). Christ is the only physician, and his blood the balm and sovereign medicine … [1]

In context, Rabbis do not interpret this as a healing of physical diseases, but a forgiveness of iniquity as when David asks the LORD to look upon his distress and take away his sin (Psalm 25:18).

I am not aware of any faith healer who possesses the healing power of Jesus Christ. Certainly, none have raised the dead. The only deception is false exegesis.

The doctor replied that I was thinking with the mind of a Pharisee, and that everyone who Jesus healed was healed wholly because their sins were forgiven.

So, if I am not healed of physical maladies it means I am not forgiven?

The man who was born blind (John 9:1-3) was guilty of no sin — nor his parents. It plants seeds of doubt in the mind of a saved person to suggest it is their fault for being sick.

I know that I am forgiven, but it hasn’t healed my afflictions — some of which have plagued me since birth. Paul prayed three times for healing, but God would not. The LORD forgave David, but the king suffered the consequence of sin until he died.

I know that God heals, but sometimes He does not. Hope is a powerful thing, but false hope can end in spiritual death if a person of weak faith expects healing and is not.

The doctor replied that I have chosen “self-preservation” over Jesus Christ. (Sounds like New Age gobbledygook.) I was told to review 1 Corinthians 1:18-2:16 where Paul writes about spiritual wisdom of which, evidently, I am lacking.

I have been a Christian for 35 years. The passages in 1 Cor are not unfamiliar to me — nor are they pertinent.

We have no disagreement that God heals, but He does so according to Divine will.

Like Peter, the apostle Matthew also quotes Isaiah:

(Matthew 8:16-17) … When evening came, they brought to Him many who were demon-possessed; and He cast out the spirits with a word, and healed all who were ill. This was to fulfill what was spoken through Isaiah the prophet: “HE HIMSELF TOOK OUR INFIRMITIES AND CARRIED AWAY OUR DISEASES.”

The New Testament church understood that the miracle of healing, prophesied by Isaiah, was fulfilled in their day by the hand of Jesus Christ. This gift of healing was conferred upon the apostles who, in fact, performed miracles of healing — even raising the dead — which power expired with the death of the last apostle.

Does this mean Christians are not healed today? By no means, but even if laying on of the hands (James 5:14-16) was absolute no one in the early church would have gotten sick … or died.

(The doctor had the last word though …)

The Lord is telling you through me to read 1 Cor. 1:18-2:16 – they do apply to you. Now I ask a second time that you withhold posting any more comments herein until you have READ ALL the articles that I have linked here, for all the answers are in the word herein. Thank you for respecting these requests.

Well, the Spirit led me to the doctor’s blog for the purpose of exposing false teaching. I thought it interesting that when the doctor had nothing left to say she threw a curve ball, and shut the door. The stated purpose of her blog is for mature Christians to press deeper into Christ.

One of us failed.

From what did Jesus save us? Let me ask it another way … for what did Jesus die?

Sin.

The miracles of healing (in fulfillment of Isaiah’s prophesy) were a sign of Divine authority. Indeed, Nicodemus said to Jesus, Rabbi, we know that You have come from God as a teacher; for no one can do these signs that You do unless God is with him (John 3:2).

Curious that modern theologians — unlike the Pharisees — can so easily dismiss the miracles of Christ.

Today charlatans assume the mantle of faith healer. Subjects are pre-selected to come forward to receive healing of a suspect condition while people who are truly sick are denied access to the stage area. Look carefully and you will see that the person being healed does not fall backwards by the power of the Holy Spirit, but is pushed by an attendant elder.

There was an incident where the faith healer told a disabled man to get out of his wheelchair and walk. Well, the man got up and fell … repeatedly. The pastor screamed at the man for his lack of faith. He commanded him over and over to get up and walk — only to fall again and again. The stunned assembly watched in gasping disbelief at the abuse inflicted upon this helpless person. The pastor had the nerve to share this story on TCT, and with no remorse for it was the man’s fault that he was not healed.

Sounds like the teaching on Doctor Deanna’s blog. It is your fault that you are sick. It is your fault that you are not healed. You lack faith. It is a gospel of doubt and guilt. What a heavy burden to lay upon an afflicted brother or sister that their very salvation is in question.

God heals according to His divine purpose and will.

When might a faith healer enter a Children’s Hospital and empty the beds? Are those sick and dying little ones guilty? Unforgiven? 

I think not.

Credits:

1. An Exposition of the New Testament, John Gill, (3 vols., 1746-8).

Visit Us at Blogspot

Copyright © 2016 Messiah Gate

15 thoughts on “By His Stripes We are Healed

  1. This faith-healer’s idea that those who do not receive healings bear the responsibility for it (whether by lack of faith, failure to confess sin or “self preservation”) is nothing new. Job’s friends had similar misapprehensions. Eliphaz presumed (4:6) “Should not your piety be your confidence and your blameless ways your hope?”

    His argument defies the reality we all know and experience. In verse 7 he states rhetorically, “Who, being innocent, has ever perished? Where were the upright ever destroyed?” Well, we know this is not true, for Jesus tells us our heavenly Father “makes his sun rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and on the unjust” (Matthew 5:45).

    We know by reading the book that what Job suffered was not the result of anything he did. Satan had challenged the LORD that Job was upright and blameless only because of the many ways in which the LORD had blessed him. Strike him and those blessings, so Satan claimed, and Job would curse him to his face. But in the end Satan lost this challenge. Even as early as 13:15 Job confessed, “Though he slay me, I will hope in him”.

    Some will argue that Job was healed and his fortunes returned. Yet healing and having blessings in life isn’t the point of Job’s story. It’s about the sovereignty of God and how we, as mere humans, are to relate to him.

    When we focus on our own heath, prosperity, success, influence or any other indication of “how well we are doing”, we are making that our idol. We are worshipping the creation, not the Creator. Since our life here on earth is tainted with sin (1 John 1:8) we will continue to deal with the imperfection of sickness until the perfect comes (1 Corinthians 13:10). That in itself is reason enough to be selfless.

    We cannot begin to measure the Creator of the universe, the Savior of mankind by the health of our own bodies, which are passing away. God is bigger than that.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. In my most recent blog posts I have chronicled the end-of-life journey of Joey Martin Feek. Over two million people followed her courageous story of faith, hope and amazing grace. At least as many prayers were offered including a healing service at her home.

    She was buried last week.

    We believe that God heals, but He is sovereign and will do so according to Divine will. He chose not to heal Joey physically, but may heal someone else. Does this mean we ought not to pray? Of course not, but we must recognize that His will be done.

    No one wants to die. Jesus did not want to go to the Cross:

    Father, if you are willing, take this cup from me; yet not my will, but yours be done (Luke 22:42).

    Joey fought hard to live, but it was God’s will to take her home. Nothing more could she pray to manifest a different outcome.

    Like

  3. Hello again. Dear brother, I read this post already, but I was unable to comment on it, so I commented here. Your experience here is what led me to direct you to my testifying of our living God’s mighty working in my life and that of my family members.
    I pray the Lord grant you the spirit of wisdom and revelation as you read the following:

    What gives me the confidence to pray for the sick? I believe it’s God’s will to heal and touch the sick! It’s not just because they’re sick, it’s because God said “Go, and whatever city you’re in, heal the sick.”

    …We let our experience trump the validity of God’s word, and we wouldn’t dare think that we’re missing something! Whoo, I didn’t say that meanly. We’re missing something! Let’s not let anything stop the power of God! Let’s not have any reason why it’s NOT possible; let’s settle on one reason why it IS possible and grow into that until it’s our reality.

    I’ve been in four churches that I can remember where every sickness we prayed for was healed, even the “big” things on our scales. To heaven it’s all the same. The reason we receive it on a scale is because we see it on a scale. We hear “cancer” and we try to dig in and pray a better prayer. What are we saying? “Cancer, you’re powerful and you intimidate me.” …because it has hurt so many of us and its natural reality has a voice. I don’t think Jesus is intimidated by cancer! I think we’ve just been hurt by it. And we’ve meant well and we’ve prayed a lot and we haven’t seen victory a lot. I’ve watched, and most of the time Christians pray because they’re driven by the problem…

    Faith doesn’t come because you’re driven by a problem; faith comes because of love. Faith comes because of the word and the promise. We’re not problem-driven people, we’re promise-driven people, we’re answer-driven! We have a victory in Christ that we’re contending for and appropriating because His word is true. It’s not just because we have the Bible and we have Christian rights. It’s because we’re in a covenant relationship with God.

    Some of us are discouraged and hurt because we tried everything and prayed everything we were supposed to pray and we turned relationship into a method, a Christian method… There’s discouragement there. No, it’s relationship and growing up in Him into all things, and faith working through love, and love never failing, and us knowing our place.

    One thing I really want to encourage you in, and I’m way past debate – can you understand that I’m happy and free, that I’m having fun in the gospel? Can you tell that I at least sincerely believe what I’m telling you? OK, now watch. I’m way past debate; people who lack the Christian experience want to debate and tell you why not… You’re way late for me! A guy like me will just make you frustrated without trying! Because you’re not going to pull me into that! I’m having too much fun; I just understand that you don’t understand, and that’s not an arrogant phrase!

    I’ve seen HUNDREDS and hundreds of people get healed, HUNDREDS! And I’ve seen people NOT get healed. I’ve seen people that had to die die, but I’ve seen people that had to die live. I’ve gotten over the struggle of that a long time ago. I’m just going after what’s possible – what’s God – and I’m building on what He’s doing.

    I’m not trying to write theology: it’s already here! It’s the life of Jesus! Jesus is perfect theology! He’s the visible image of an invisible God! He’s the expressed image of His person. When you’ve seen Him, you’ve seen the Father! ..so He is the WILL of God revealed!

    We’re still trying to figure out God through life. We’re still analytically processing God through the experiences of our life. …we’re saying that because Bill died and Bob lived God heals some and doesn’t heal all. Well Jesus didn’t declare that – life declares that, but Jesus didn’t declare that. John 1 says that God has spoken through His Son. Well Jesus didn’t declare that God heals some and doesn’t heal all; circumstances have declared that. So who’s the voice of truth: circumstances or Jesus?

    Come on, let’s get humble and really die! Well, we know it all, and our knowledge is puffing us up and putting a ceiling over the power of God that we desperately need. (Come on, I’m preaching straight; I’m not mad at anybody, I’m letting this thing fly.)

    That was an excerpt/partial transcript of a very humble and transparent brother in Christ through whom Jesus ministers healing to many. “These signs will accompany those who believe: in my name they will drive out demons… they will place their hands on the sick and the sick will get well.” (Mark 16:17-18). You can click on this link to read more of this excerpt/partial transcript: Dan Mohler on Healing – Powerful! – The Lord Is With Us
    http://thelordiswithus.com/2015/11/18/dan-mohler-on-healing-powerful/

    Like

  4. Please read Luke 10 in context. Jesus appointed (and authorized) the seventy to go forth throughout Judea proclaiming the Kingdom of God. The seventy, as a testimony of their witness, were given the power to heal the sick. We cannot interpret the Bible through the filtered lens of egocentric eyes.

    But when you say that you’ve seen people healed, and some not — some have lived, and some have died … well, on that point we can agree.

    As to your question:

    One thing I really want to encourage you in, and I’m way past debate – can you understand that I’m happy and free, that I’m having fun in the gospel? Can you tell that I at least sincerely believe what I’m telling you?

    Yes, and I don’t mean to take that away from you. Your sincerity is what makes our disagreement unpleasant. You think I’m wrong. I think your theology is more New Age than Bible. What you believe is a blend of Mind Science and Pentecostalism, but it is not Scriptural.

    It is so easy to select a verse and make it fit what we want to believe, but that is not sound hermeneutics.

    Like

  5. Brother, you are so ready to defend yourself and debate! Deny yourself and receive the grace our Lord is giving you. You did not even read what I sent you, let alone click on the link and read it all. Those words are excerpts from a video of Dan Mohler. And you are not humbling yourself before God’s word on healing, but are pridefully believing that your (or her) experience in not being healed trumps the word of God. Once again I admonish you to deny yourself, be a Berean, and make time to press into the Lord as you read and APPREHEND His word on the cause and eradication of disease. The Lord led me to study His word on the matter, and then compile this list of these Scriptures for you. I encourage you to humble yourself before Him and actually dig in; not only will the Lord bless you for studying them, but He will then use you to lay hands on the sick so that they will get well just as He uses Dan, myself, Jerry, and many other Christ-followers. I love you, dear one!
    http://thelordiswithus.com/looking-into-gods-word-on-the-cause-and-eradication-of-disease-2/part-7-list-of-pertinent-scriptures-addressing-the-spiritual-roots-of-disease/

    Like

  6. Dan Mohler wrote an endorsement of faith healer Todd White’s website. I’ve seen enough of Todd White to know that he’s been exposed as a fraud and a charlatan.

    In one video he talks about standing over the dead body of a six-year-old boy who succumbed to cancer. White could not heal the boy of his lengthy illness nor could he raise him from the dead. Oh, but he could heal the attendant coroner of a headache.

    White visited his father in the hospital, but he wasn’t able to heal his broken ankle. Oh, but he was able to cure the nurse’s headache.

    During physical therapy, White could not heal his torn knee, but he did heal another patient’s whiplash. Oh, and the therapist’s headache.

    He could not heal his grandmother nor his mother’s breast cancer, but if you have a minor ache or pain … No, thank you. I choose not to drink the Kool-Aid.

    False messiahs and false prophets will appear. They will work miraculous signs and do wonderful things to deceive, if possible, those whom God has chosen (Mark 13:22).

    When just one of these faith healers can enter a Children’s Hospital and empty every ward … when, just when, one of them can truly heal like Christ … when, indeed.

    Like

  7. So are you going to humble yourself before the Lord and read and study the Scriptures I have sent you twice now (last month and now)? You say nothing about the living waters, the word of God I have repeatedly offered you therein. Or have your experiences and opinions hardened your heart against truth, His omnipotence. and love? And did you ever read and consider Jerry’s two comments to the two comments you left on TheLordIsWithUs.com? Again, our Father is running to you with open arms, dear brother, but He does not force Himself upon us. Choose wisely; your spiritual and physical health,your inheritance in His Kingdom, and the other members of this glorious Body of Christ are affected by your faith and what you do (or not) in accordance with the Holy Spirit. I love you.

    Like

  8. Why did Christ die? To heal our infirmities, or to heal our souls? Since we don’t share a common understanding of Scripture there is no sense going around in circles.

    We don’t disagree that God heals, but many times He does not. Not knowing this might cause a person with false hope to deny their faith. It did me many years ago when I believed as you. Praise the Lord that He brought me back.

    I am humble before God. What is not humbling is to elevate our will and desires above His sovereignty. Jesus Christ is our Lord and Savior. He died for our sins to reconcile us to the Father. It is not a Gospel of health and prosperity, but of salvation. The miracles Christ performed were a witness of His testimony and authority — not a promise of expectation.

    Word of Faith has deceived many by diverting their eyes from the Creator and focusing their sight on the creature. Deanna, it’s not about me — but the One who gave His life that my soul may be healed.

    I will pray for your soul as the Holy Spirit leads me.

    Like

  9. I ask again, have you actually pressed into the Lord and read all the Scriptures I have compiled for you and provided you the link to twice? Have you even read and considered the words of our brother Jerry

    Like

  10. (I accidentally pressed “send” prematurely). Brother, see to it that you are not taken captive by your pride and unbelief in Christ. You perish through lack of knowledge of the living God and through unbelief in Him, and the whole Body of Christ is affected by it. Please deny yourself, pick up your cross, and follow Him!

    In obedience to the Lord I again exhort you to read the Scriptures compiled for you (see link above) and read Jerry’s comments to you.

    He does not force Himself upon us, but He does send His servants who, knowing Him, persevere despite the opposition, and who do not grow weary and lose heart (because we have experiential knowledge, heart knowledge, from denying ourselves and depending like little children on Christ to live His life through our branches).

    LET the Holy Spirit circumcise your heart, that you may be wholly healed (spirit, soul, and body) that you may then carry out His commission to believe, drive out demons, and lay hands on the sick so that He may heal them through you (Mark 16:17-18).

    I love you!

    Like

  11. Reading the comments by Deanna Reynolds, one word stands out: “reality” (“Let’s not have any reason why it’s NOT possible; let’s settle on one reason why it IS possible and grow into that until it’s our reality.”) When we consider reality, we are talking about what exists despite our feelings or frame of mind. On the contrary, Ms. Reynolds seems transfixed by the approval of her own state of mind.

    Our feelings about experiences and opinions do not testify to their credibility. If that were so, then drug-altered consciousness would present all the convincing proof we need. When we speak of reality, we must be real. Ms. Reynolds’ failure in this regard limits reality to her perception of it. She writes, “you are not humbling yourself before God’s word,” yet I know there is no truth in this.

    The demeanor or tone of Ms. Reynolds’ comments are condescending, as if the “love” she is trying to convey in her statements comes from someone in authority and is being directed to someone in a naive, ignorant or childish position. Romans 14 teaches us we should be convinced in our own minds, while not passing judgement on one another because of differences of opinion.

    The truth is that Messiah Gate’s author, David, loves God’s word. That love has motivated him to invest many years of his life in the humble, scholarly study of Scripture which has enabled him to write about the gospel in a way that attracts both Jews and gentiles to the Messiah, the Savior of the world. He has humbled his whole life before the LORD, his physical life, his family life, his professional life and his economic life. The fact that Ms. Reynolds has judged him to be without humility before the word of God shows that her supposed “love” for her “dear brother” is not genuine. The real lack of humility is on her part. Her superior attitude reveals her own spiritual pride.

    Repeatedly, she characterizes Messiah Gate’s testimony as “debate” while insisting that she is simply expressing the “fun” she is having in the gospel, and in so doing, assuming a higher moral ground. But this is disingenuous because she herself is in fact engaging in dialogue with the express purpose of changing Messiah Gate’s point of view. What is that, if not debate? Because Messiah Gate’s point of view is an expression of a deep love and respect for the authority of God’s word, the onus is on Ms. Reynolds to respond in kind. But she has not done that.

    Instead, she (who pridefully presents her own case on the basis of experiences and feelings) accuses Messiah Gate of not being humble before God’s word and arguing from pride. This transparent tactic is simply accusing your detractors of your own faults.

    The reality is this: Biblical faith is about something a lot bigger than solving earthly, physical problems. Jesus offers eternal life, eternal healing, eternal sinlessness, eternal joy in the presence of Almighty God. I believe faith healing is real, but the reality is that not everyone is healed. In this world, disease will not be eradicated. Disease is just one aspect of the fallen world we live in. If God’s intent were to make life in this physical earth perfect now, then in addition to eradicating disease, every other bad thing should be eradicated. Surely poverty must be eradicated. Except for one thing: Jesus said we would always have poor people. Poverty will never be eradicated in this life.

    As I see it, the problem with the idea of eradicating disease is that Deanna Reynolds believes we can draw a line and declare, “No more disease shall pass here!” But if that were the case, then we also would be eradicating all deaths from disease. People would only die from injury. Then, all we would have to do to eradicate death altogether, is to have faith-empowered injury prevention ministries that would draw a line and declare, “No more harm shall pass here!” Yet we know that this is something God has said he will do in his own time.

    It’s not for us to play God. It is for us to make our requests known to God. He will answer our prayers and give us his peace, but how he answers us may be quite different from what we expect. That’s because his ways are higher than our ways and his thoughts are higher than our thoughts.

    Faith healing ministries, like all ministries, are subject to the sovereignty of God. It is His prerogative to use us to minister to others according to his discretion, not ours. Romans 9:15 reminds us, “I will have mercy on whom I have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I have compassion.”

    Like

  12. The Testimony of John Edwards:

    My name is John Edwards, and I was a Faith Preacher for ten years and one month. My wife and I attended and graduated from the premiere word of faith seminary in the world. During school I had the opportunity of working for some of the most famous names in the word of faith movement.

    As a word of faith Christian, I did all the things that the word of faith teaches. I confessed the Word. I talked in line with the Word. I called things that be not as though they were.

    For many years I prayed, believed and confessed miracles, signs and wonders for our ministry. But not much happened along those lines. In fact, I buried a lot of people over those years, including my daughter that died of a brain tumor at the age of fourteen. I was constantly perplexed that the message of faith and healing that I was preaching did not seem to work in the lives of the congregation.

    About a year and a half ago a good friend from Tulsa sent me a CD teaching on pride. I hated it. It really bothered me a lot and got me to thinking and praying which is sometimes a dangerous thing to do! It convicted me of pride. It opened my eyes to some of my motives. More than anything, it revealed to me that I had an enormous ego that could never, ever be content.

    I realized that over the years, that I had transformed from being on fire for God to being on fire for me. Everything was about me. My vision, my church, my success, my reputation, my dream, my services, my anointing, my, my, my, me, me ,me.

    The Word of Faith is a cult because it is led by people claiming special insight and revelation that is unorthodox. They also attempt to control their subjects with fear, manipulation and bullying.

    Please do not be afraid to look at the evidence. I was too afraid to examine the evidence because I wanted things my way. The Word of Faith put me in charge of my own life, and I liked that. But when I got up the courage to begin to read and study, God opened my eyes with truth and freedom.

    Like

Comments are closed.