Truth


truthWriters who post on WordPress receive an annual report on the progress of their blog including number of articles, readers and comments. It is personally satisfying to see good stats, but I decided early on that Messiah Gate would continue to publish as long as God permits, and even if it is read by only one person.

Articles are posted as I am inspired by the Holy Spirit. Before they are composed I say this prayer:

LORD, grant me the wisdom and strength to do this work. I am just the vessel — the Holy Spirit is the inspiration and author. May this article sow good seed, in good soil, to bear good fruit.

I usually devote one day to write a two thousand word post. It is exhausting labor, and my eyesight is failing. Outside work is very demanding, and my request to reduce hours has not been granted. Articles of shorter length may post less frequently, but my zeal for the LORD does not wane.

With age and dimming eyes I may become even more zealous like a man I admire greatly, J. Vernon McGee, who said:

My wife tells me that I should be nicer on the radio. Well, I don’t feel like being nice. You may want to turn me off. You may not like what I say, but I have to tell the truth. A fella said to me, ‘McGee, you think I’m going to hell because I play golf on Sunday.’ I told him, ‘You’re not going to hell for playing golf — you’re going to hell because you don’t believe in Jesus Christ.’ Friends, there are some people coming to church every week who’d be better off  going for a Sunday drive.

Of course, J. Vernon was referring to this passage in James:

Therefore, to one who knows the right thing to do and does not do it, to him it is sin (James 4:17).

There are a lot of people who go to church on Sunday, but live in the world the rest of the week. McGee recalled an elder in the church who had season tickets to the stadium, and one week the man invited him to attend a game. “Well,” McGee said, “I never saw a man behave like that elder. In church he acted like a saint, but at the game he was loud and profane.”

People, like that elder, live in condemnation for it would be better for them to not know the truth than to willfully sin as Jesus said to the Pharisees:

If you were blind, you would have no sin; but since you say, ‘We see,’ your sin remains (John 9:41).

People want to be popular. Sometimes I’ll read another blog where a one sentence post gets fifty likes and two dozen comments. I might have spent ten hours composing a 2500 word draft that goes completely unnoticed. Doubt starts to arise as to whether my effort is being wasted, but I know those thoughts are from the enemy. And I am reminded by the Holy Spirit that I don’t write to be popular, but to serve the LORD. If just one person reads Messiah Gate (and is blessed) then my toil will not have been in vain.

What is the purpose of life, really? To figure out what your talent is and use it to glorify the LORD. Albert Barnes commented if you don’t use your talent because you dread a loss of popularity then you are guilty of sin before God.

The prophets of the LORD were hated by men because they told the truth. The truth is not ugly — only the sin it reveals. People want the pastor to tickle their ears, and make them feel good about themselves. If that is all you are seeking then you might do just as well going for that Sunday drive, or playing golf.

So I will continue to write as the LORD has gifted me, and will do so with the zeal of J. Vernon McGee. The truth will not be restrained even though stats reveal that writing the truth is not very popular. But, then again, Messiah Gate does not exist to please men, but to glorify God.

Visit Us at Blogspot

Copyright © 2015 Messiah Gate

One thought on “Truth

  1. I for one thank the LORD for your posts. I believe that as he leads you to write them, he will also lead those he wants to read them. I ask that he specially bless you in 2016 and that you will post many more thoughtful and well-researched articles. The truth has a way of getting out. Just think of those few shepherds to whom the angels announced good news of great joy. Imagine that: a few lonely shepherds spreading the good news — and the spreading hasn’t stopped yet. Keep writing for the LORD!

    Like

Comments are closed.