Heal the Blind


A personal note to the readers of Messiah Gate:

[Those who follow Messiah Gate receive emails from WordPress when a new article is posted. Video posts do not display in the email. Sunday Gospel only showed the written text. If you missed the video presentation you will need to link directly to the website, or click here.]

Today, I was diagnosed with macular sclerosis. I have lost 50% of my vision in the last five years. Glasses cannot compensate for the deficiency. Without surgery the condition will deteriorate until I am left with only peripheral vision. It is important to have your eyes dilated when you go in for your annual exam. This procedure allows the doctor to see problems that would otherwise go unnoticed. Early detection is critical to the preservation of your sight.

Postings have become less frequent because of my diminished vision, but I give God all the glory.

We know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to His purpose (Romans 8:28).

I have been participating with a prayer group, and it is sometimes overwhelming how many Christians are suffering from a multitude of issues — health, relationships, financial, marital and, of course, spiritual.

How does a Christian cope? Our problems are, in many cases, not unlike what worldly people suffer, but how we deal with these trials defines our faith. Do we self-medicate with alcohol and drugs, or do we go the Cross and seek the healing grace of Almighty God?

When I came home from the eye doctor I got on my knees and praised God with thanksgiving. Without faith I probably would have stopped at the liquor store and bought a fifth of whiskey.

I want to share with you a story of faith and love that has allowed the country duo Joey and Rory to endure some difficult times.

Last year, Joey gave birth to a wonderful baby girl who was diagnosed with Down Syndrome. A routine, follow-up exam revealed that Joey had cervical cancer. Then, Rory’s mom passed away.

Joey said in an earlier interview:

“Our faith is the most important thing in our lives.”

Rory added:

“As God often reveals, what seemed like our biggest fears are [in the end] our greatest joys.”

(You can visit Rory’s WordPress blog here.)

People often wonder how good people can suffer so much. My answer is, “Read the Bible.”

One of my favorite stories is told in John 9 about Jesus healing the man born blind.

The disciples asked:

Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he would be born blind? (John 9:2)

This is curious. The disciples presumed that the man’s blindness was a judgement from God.

Jesus responded:

It was neither that this man sinned, nor his parents; but it was so that the works of God might be displayed in him (John 9:3).

And keep in mind that the Lord told Paul that His power is made perfect in weakness (2 Corinthians 12:9).

By the way, Joey had a successful operation and will be okay. I’m expecting a miracle, too. Please pray for me, and for those who are spiritually blind.

Be blessed.

Visit Us at Blogspot

Copyright © 2015 Messiah Gate

